FAQ

Car Accident Questions:

I feel fine. Do I really need to go to a doctor?

Yes, once the adrenaline wears off, generally speaking, people will feel aches, pains, or discomfort following a crash. If you do not want to go to the ER department, then consider going to an Urgent Care facility immediately following a crash.

An additional option would be to seek out medical treatment from either an orthopedic physician, neurologist, neurosurgical physician or a chiropractic physician. They are professionals who can properly document and diagnose any injury.

Remember, in the state of Florida we have a 14 day rule. Meaning, you MUST get medical treatment within 14 days after a crash, in order to preserve and protect your entitlement to having your auto insurance company pay your medical bills, up to $10,000.00. If you commence medical treatment on day 15, it will be to late, as you will have waived your entitlement to benefits.

What does my insurance policy cover?

It can cover many things, however, what is always required by the state of Florida is that you carry PIP (Personal Injury Protection.) These are your medical benefits that you are entitled to as per statute and contract.

Additional coverages may include property damage, which is applicable if you crash into someone. With property damage coverage, your auto insurance will pay expenses related to repairs through this coverage provision.

If you are shopping around for auto insurance, the elective coverages that you should consider are: BI, UM, collision and rental. If you have any other questions about these coverages call us for a free consultation.

The person that hit me doesn’t have insurance. What do I do?

First, call your auto insurance company and report the accident. Then, get medical attention, if needed. If you are hurt, and carry UM coverage, then you will have a claim for compensation that will be paid directly by your auto insurer to you.

Attorney Hiring Process Questions:

Why should I speak to a lawyer?

Because you do not have a law degree, and this is not your job. The probability of you misstepping is very high, and that could cost you a lot of money and heartache.

How do I select a lawyer? What should I look for in an attorney?

Ask your family and friends, chances are that someone very close to you has been in a similar situation and has required the services of a lawyer. DO NOT: get sucked into the hype of flashy billboards, commercials, or radio spots.

When speaking to a lawyer, ask as many questions as possible to understand the process. Ask the lawyer about his field of law. Does he or she like what they do as a profession? How many clients have they serviced? Will they personally handle your case or will a legal assistant/case manager handle your case under their supervision?

If a lawyer is truly knowledgeable in the field you require they will be able to answer your questions thoroughly and make you understand what is occurring. Stay away from a lawyer that says “That’s a great question, let me get back to you on that.”

What can I expect from my lawyer?

You should expect compassion, honesty, communication, and zealous and aggressive representation.

DUI Defense Questions:

What do I do after I get arrested for a DUI.

You should be honest and don’t lie to law enforcement. Contact a lawyer immediately because you will need to get your driver’s license back while working on defense of criminal charges.

Do I have to submit to a field sobriety test?

No, you can legally refuse to submit to a field sobriety test.

What is the BAC?

BAC is an abbreviation for “blood alcohol concentration,” which is the percentage of blood that is concentrated with alcohol. Law enforcement will measure this by the use of a breathalyzer, which you can refuse to submit to.